General instructions:
Unless otherwise noted in the description of the database, you must enter your library card number when using our resources from outside the library. Some learning resources require registration. Some may only be accessed inside library buildings. Databases created by our staff are open to all from anywhere and several others require a different password. Please check with a librarian or call the reference desk at 423-757-5310, if you need passwords or experience any other problems.
General Reference Center Gold 1980
-
A general interest database that integrates a variety of sources in one easy-to-use
interface. Use General Reference Center Gold to find articles from newspapers,
reference books, and periodicals, many with full-text and images. Find the
latest current events, popular culture, business and industry coverage, the
arts and sciences, sports, hobbies, and more (TEL).
General OneFile 1980 -
A one-stop source for news and periodical articles on a wide range of topics:
business, computers, current events, economics, education, environmental
issues, health care, hobbies, humanities, law, literature and art, politics,
science, social science, sports, technology, and many general interest topics.
Millions of full-text articles, many with images. Updated daily. (TEL)
MasterFILE Premier
Designed specifically for public libraries, this multidisciplinary database
provides full text for more than 2,100 general reference publications with
full text information dating as far back as 1975. Covering virtually every
subject area of general interest, MasterFILE Premier also includes nearly
650 full text reference books, 84,074 biographies, 86,135 primary source documents,
and an Image Collection of 107,135 photos, maps and flags. This database is
updated daily (EBSCO).
InfoTrac OneFile 1980 -
A one-stop source for news and periodical articles on a wide range of topics:
business, computers, current events, economics, education, environmental issues,
health care, hobbies, humanities, law, literature and art, politics, science,
social science, sports, technology, and many general interest topics. Millions
of full-text articles, many with images. Updated daily (TEL).
Gale Virtual Reference Library
Gale Virtual Reference Library is a database of encyclopedias, almanacs, and
specialized reference sources for multidisciplinary research. These reference
materials once were accessible only in the library, but now you can access
them online from the library or remotely 24/7. Because each library creates
its own eBook collection, the content you see may vary if you use the database
at different libraries (your school, your public library, or your office).
See a descriptive
list of titles in our collection or
open TEL to search this resource.
National Newspaper Index 1977
-
National Newspaper Index provides quick access to the indexing of America's
top five newspapers in one seamless search: The New York Times, The Wall Street
Journal, The Christian Science Monitor, Los Angeles Times and The Washington
Post (Gale
via TEL).
Custom Newspapers
Search a collection of more then 650 newspapers, local, national and international,
including Chattanooga Times-Free Press, Knoxville News-Sentinel, The Nashville
Tennessean, and more (TEL).
Academic OneFile 1980-
A premier source for peer-reviewed, full-text articles from the world's
leading journals and reference sources. With extensive coverage of the
physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology,
literature and other subjects, Academic OneFile is both authoritative
and comprehensive. With millions of articles available in both PDF and
HTML full-text with no restrictions, researchers are able to find accurate
information quickly. Log on to TEL and
check it out!
Expanded Academic ASAP 1980
-
From arts and the humanities to social sciences, science and technology, this
database meets research needs across all academic disciplines. Access scholarly
journals, news magazines, and newspapers, some full text and images (TEL).
Literature Resource Center - LRC
Literature Resource Center provides access to biographies, bibliographies,
and critical analyses of authors from every age and literary discipline. Combining
Gale Group's core literary databases in a single online service, the Literature
Resource Center covers more than 120,000 novelists, poets, essayists, journalists,
and other writers, with in-depth coverage of 2,500 of the most-studied authors
(TEL).
Scribner Writers Series
Scribner Writers Series includes 15-20 page signed essays on more than 2,000
authors and literary genres drawn from the acclaimed Scribner print series (TEL).
The
Twayne Authors Series - Twayne World, English, and US Authors
Comprises 600 full-text titles from the Twayne Literary Masters series, 200 each
from Twayne World, US, and English Authors (TEL).
Points of View Reference Center
Contains a balance of materials from all viewpoints in many subject areas,
including 800 main essays, leading political magazines from both sides of
the aisle, newspapers, radio & TV news transcripts, primary source documents
and reference books. The database also offers guides to debate, developing
arguments and writing position papers. Additionally, this database contains
the Video Encyclopedia of the 20th Century, providing students with a searchable
collection of some of the most important social, political, and cultural
moments of the 20th century. A tutorial is
available to help you get the most out of this resource.(Ebsco
via TEL ).
Science
Database
Millions of articles from over 1,600 magazines, journals and reference materials
on all aspects of the sciences (TEL).
Student Edition
Formerly SuperTOM, this database is designed for high school students, with
access to a variety of indexed and full-text magazines, newspapers and reference
books for information on current events, the arts, science, popular culture,
health, people, government, history, sports and more (TEL).
Biography Resource Center
This database combines award-winning biographies from respected Gale Group
sources. Biography Resource Center also includes full-text articles from hundreds
of periodicals. Search for people based on one or more personal facts such
as birth and death year, nationality, ethnicity, occupation or gender, or
combine criteria to create a highly-targeted custom search. (Gale
via TEL)
Biography and Genealogy Master Index
This database is a first stop index tool for learning where to look for biographical
material on people from all time periods, geographical locations and fields
of endeavor. Biography and Genealogy Master Index indexes any print product
that includes biographical information on multiple persons. It also acts as
an index to other indexes. (Gale
via TEL)
Wilson Biographies
Wilson Biographies contains more than 140,000 substantial narrative profiles. including the full text of the biographies
from more than 100 print volumes of biographical reference books published
by H. W. Wilson and other quality reference publishers. Wilson Biographies
contains all of the articles from all volumes of Current Biography, the World
Author Series, Nobel Prize Winners, World Artists, World Film Directors, American
Reformers, and numerous biographical books on musicians and composers from
throughout history.
(Wilson Web)
Business Source Premier
As the world’s largest full text business database, Business Source
Premier provides full text for nearly 8,350 scholarly business journals and
other sources, including full text for more than 1,100 scholarly business
publications. Coverage includes virtually all subject areas related to business.
This database provides full text (PDF) for more than 350 of the top scholarly
journals dating as far back as 1922. This database is updated on a daily basis.
(EBSCO)
Regional Business News
This database provides comprehensive full text coverage for regional business
publications. Regional Business News incorporates coverage of 75 business
journals, newspapers and newswires from all metropolitan and rural areas within
the United States. This database is updated on a daily basis. (EBSCO)
General Business File ASAP
1980 - Jun 2005
Analyze company performance and activity, industry events and trends as well
as the latest in management, economics and politics. Access to a combination
of broker research reports, trade publications, newspapers, journals and company
directory listings with full text and images available (TEL).
Reference USA
An InfoUSA database containing detailed information on more
than 12 million U.S. businesses; 102 million U.S. residents; 683,000 U.S.
health care providers; 1 million Canadian businesses; and 11 million Canadian
residents. Available only at public computers in the downtown library
(InfoUSA).
Kid's InfoBits
Kids InfoBits is designed especially for students in kindergarten through
grade five. It features an engaging, developmentally appropriate graphic
interface, premier reference content and the best magazines for elementary
students.
Open
this resource via TEL.
Novelist K-8
A fantastic resource for teachers, parents, and students alike. This junior
version of Novelist, intended for students from kindergarten to grade 8, features
detailed subject headings as well as booklists by theme and grade level. (EBSCO)
Junior Edition 2002 -
Formerly SuperTOM Junior, this periodical database is designed for students
in junior high and middle school, with magazines, newspapers and reference
books (most are full-text) for information on current events, the arts,
science, popular culture, health, people, government, history, sports
and more (TEL).
Novelist K-8
A fantastic resource for teachers, parents, and students alike. This junior
version of Novelist, intended for students from kindergarten to grade 8, features
detailed subject headings as well as booklists by theme and grade level. (EBSCO)
LearningExpress Library
LearningExpress Library provides a completely interactive online learning
platform of practice tests and tutorial course series designed to help patrons,
students, and adult learners succeed on the academic or licensing tests they
must pass. You'll get immediate scoring, complete answer explanations, and
an individualized analysis of your results. Registration is free for library
members and visitors (LearningExpress, LLC). Open
this educational service.
Novelist
NoveList is a fiction database that provides subject heading access, reviews,
annotations, and much more for over 125,000 fiction titles. It also includes
other content of interest to fiction readers, such as Author Read-alikes,
What We’re Reading, Book Discussion Guides, BookTalks, and Annotated
Book Lists. For school media specialists and teachers there are Picture Book
Extenders and articles on Teaching with Fiction. (EBSCO)
What Do I Read Next?
What Do I Read Next? includes over 115,000 recommended titles, more than 62,500
plot summaries, and awards information from 561 awards, all to help users
uncover new reading adventures, find long-remembered favorites, and discover
award-winning titles. Search by genre, subject, author, title, series, and
more. A monthly highlights page allows the user to see selections of award
winners, upcoming titles, and titles that revolve around different subjects
each month (TEL).
Mango Languages
Our foreign language learning tool containing materials for nine languages: Brazilian Portuguese, Spanish, Japanese, French, German, Italian, Greek, Russian, and Mandarin Chinese.
(Use this database now.).
Informe 1994 -
Una colección de revistas hispánicas con textos completos. Abarca
negocios, salud, tecnología, cultura, temas de actualidad y otras materias
(TEL).
Ancestry Library Edition
Provides a wide range of information of interest to genealogists including
U.S. and UK census records, passenger lists, birth, death, marriage and military
records, historical maps, Ancestry World Tree and more. Available
only on library workstations. (Proquest).
HeritageQuest Online
Combines digital, searchable images of U.S. federal census records with the
digitized version of the popular UMI Genealogy & Local History collection.
This online database includes the PERiodical Source Index and Revolutionary
War files. Start searching this
database.
Obituaries 1897-2003
Index to all obituaries published in the Chattanooga Times, News Free Press,
and Chattanooga Times Free Press. It is compiled by the staff of the library
and is free to all visitors. Open
this database.
Health and Wellness Resource Center
1980 -
Use this Resource Center to find magazines, journals, newspapers, definitions,
directories, and information on: Fitness, Pregnancy, Medicine, Nutrition,
Diseases, Public Health, Occupational Health and Safety, Alcohol and Drug
abuse, Prescription Drugs, etc. Included are links to diet, cancer, and health
assessment sites as well as government databases. The material contained in
this Resource Center is intended for informational purposes only (TEL).
Health Reference Center Academic
1980 -
Use this database to find articles on: Fitness, Pregnancy, Medicine, Nutrition,
Diseases, Public Health, Occupational Health and Safety, Alcohol and Drug
abuse, HMOs, Prescription Drugs, etc. The material contained in this database
is intended for informational purposes only (TEL).
Chattanooga Associations
Clubs, charitable and non-profit organizations, professional
and business fraternities or associations, and churches. It is compiled by
the staff of the library and is free to all visitors. Open
this database.
Elected Officials
Persons currently holding public office in Chattanooga, Hamilton
County, and representing State and federal districts of interest to the Chattanooga
MSA. It is compiled by the staff of the library and is free to all
visitors. Start
searching this database.
Obituaries 1897-2003
Index to all obituaries published in the Chattanooga Times, News Free Press,
and Chattanooga Times-Free Press. It is compiled by the staff of the library
and is free to all visitors. Open
this database.
Chattanooga Photo Database
A project currently underway which will eventually digitize
all our photo collections in a searchable database online. There are 4,800
photos available at this time. It is compiled by the staff of the library
and is free to all visitors. Open
this database.
Auto Repair Service Center
The Auto Repair Reference Center is a full text database containing information
on Repair procedures, service bulletins, service recalls, wiring diagrams,
labor and quick tips for automobiles produced between 1945-2004.(EBSCO)
Professional Collection (for
educators)
Articles from more than 300 full-text periodicals covering a variety of topics
for teachers/educators, including: health and fitness, school law, drug and
alcohol abuse, learning disabilities, sports, arts and humanities, social
sciences, and psychology (TEL).
Computer Database 1980 -
Use this database to find computer-related product introductions, news and
reviews in areas such as hardware, software, electronics, engineering,
communications and the application of technology (TEL).
Military & Intelligence Database
Over 10 million articles (80% full-text) from more than 500 titles and basic
reference materials. The content in this database is also part of InfoTrac
One File (TEL).
Religion & Philosophy Database
Articles from more than 250 magazines and Journals on religion, philosophy,
archaeology, and anthropolog, and covers the impact of religion on culture.
Many articles are full-text. The content in this database is also part of
InfoTrac Onefile (TEL).
Science
Database
Millions of articles from over 1,600 magazines, journals and reference materials
on all aspects of the sciences (TEL).
Southern
Life
Contains nearly 5 million full-text articles on topics that relate directly to
Southern living, both past and present, including people, places, historical
events and more (TEL).
