

ROBERT BENTLEY

Governor

May 7, 2011

Monroe County Designated to Receive Disaster Assistance

MONTGOMERY—Governor Robert Bentley has been informed by the Federal Emergency Management Agency that Monroe County has been added to the counties designated for disaster assistance to households and businesses as part of Alabama's federal disaster declaration. The addition of these two counties brings the total of number designated for Individual Assistance to 42.

Counties previously designated are Autauga, Bibb, Blount, Calhoun, Chambers, Cherokee, Chilton, Choctaw, Clarke, Colbert, Coosa, Cullman, DeKalb, Elmore, Etowah, Fayette, Franklin, Greene, Hale, Jackson, Jefferson, Lamar, Lauderdale, Lawrence, Limestone, Madison, Marengo, Marion, Marshall, Morgan, Perry, Pickens, Shelby, Sumter, St. Clair, Talladega, Tallapoosa, Tuscaloosa, Washington, Walker and Winston.

The Governor encourages affected survivors and business owners in the newly designated counties to go ahead and apply for assistance by calling FEMA's toll-free registration number, **1-800-621-FEMA** (**3362**). The hearing or speech impaired can use the TTY line at **1-800-462-7585**. The registration lines are available from 7 a.m. to 10 p.m., local time. An application may also be completed online by going to www.disasterassistance.gov.

> Return to Previous Page

Press Office

For contact information, visit: http://www.governor.alabama.gov

Alabama State Agency Directory | Alabama State Employee Directory