

NEW YORK STATE COMMISSION ON JUDICIAL CONDUCT

ROBERT H. TEMBECKJIAN ADMINISTRATOR & COUNSEL

61 BROADWAY, SUITE 1200 NEW YORK, NEW YORK 10006

646-386-4800 646-458-0037
TELEPHONE FACSIMILE

www.cjc.ny.gov

MARISA E. HARRISON PUBLIC RECORDS OFFICER

NEWS RELEASE

May 2, 2016

Contacts:

Robert H. Tembeckjian, Administrator (646) 386-4800 Marisa E. Harrison, Public Records Officer (646) 386-4791

Judicial Conduct Commission Elects New Chair and Vice Chair

The New York State Commission on Judicial Conduct elected attorneys Joseph W. Belluck as Chair and Paul B. Harding as Vice Chair on April 28, 2016.

Commission members serve for renewable four-year terms, by appointment of the Governor, the Chief Judge or one of the four leaders of the Legislature. The Chair and Vice Chair are elected by the members and serve renewable two-year terms.

Mr. Belluck is the founding partner in the Manhattan law firm of Belluck & Fox, LLP. He was first appointed to the Commission in 2008 by then-Governor David A. Paterson, and has since been reappointed twice by Governor Andrew M. Cuomo. His current term on the Commission ends on March 31, 2020. Mr. Belluck succeeds Thomas A. Klonick as Chair.¹

Mr. Harding is the Managing Partner in the law firm of Martin, Harding & Mazzotti, LLP, in Albany, New York. He was first appointed to the Commission in

¹ Judge Klonick has his own law office in Monroe County and serves part-time as Justice of the Town Court of Perinton, a suburb of Rochester. He has served as a Commission member for 11 years and as Chair for eight. His current term on the Commission ends on March 31, 2017.

News: New Chair & Vice Chair May 2, 2016 Page 2

2006 by then Assembly Minority Leader James N. Tedisco, was reappointed by Assemblyman Tedisco in 2009 and was reappointed by current Assembly Minority Leader Brian M. Kolb in 2013. His current term on the Commission ends on March 31, 2017. Mr. Harding succeeds Terry Jane Ruderman as Vice Chair.²

Biographies of Mr. Belluck, Mr. Harding, and the other members of the Commission are available on the Commission's website, www.cjc.ny.gov.

Statement by Commission Administrator

Commission Administrator Robert H. Tembeckjian made the following statement:

"Congratulations to Joe Belluck and Paul Harding on their election as Chair and Vice Chair. They are both accomplished attorneys leading their own firms, and experienced members of the Commission, well-versed in judicial ethics. I look forward to working with them in their new roles as officers, as we strive to enhance public confidence in the integrity of the judiciary and the ethics-enforcement process.

"I also thank Judge Klonick for his service and steady guidance as Chair over the past eight years. We all look forward to his continued contribution as a member of the Commission."

Joint Statement by the New Chair and Vice Chair

Commission Chair Joseph W. Belluck and Vice Chair Paul B. Harding made the following statement:

"We appreciate the confidence shown in us by the members of the Commission. We also appreciate the contributions and example of our predecessors, Tom Klonick and Terry Ruderman.

"As its new officers, we pledge our best efforts to advance the Commission's important constitutional mission: to oversee judicial ethics vigorously, professionally and fairly throughout New York State. At a time when ethics in government is drawing attention as never before, we believe the Commission's structure, approach and record with the Judicial Branch is a model. We look forward to working with our Commission colleagues to make it even better."

² Supreme Court Justice Ruderman, who left the Commission when her most recent term expired on March 31, 2016, served as a member for 17 years and as Vice Chair for five.

News: New Chair & Vice Chair May 2, 2016 Page 3

MEMBERS OF THE STATE COMMISSION ON JUDICIAL CONDUCT

Member	Appointing Authority	Term End
Joseph W. Belluck, Esq., Chair	Governor Andrew M. Cuomo	March 31, 2020
Paul B. Harding, Esq., Vice Chair	Assembly Minority Leader Brian M. Kolb	March 31, 2017
Hon. Rolando T. Acosta	Former Chief Judge Jonathan Lippman	March 31, 2018
Hon. Sylvia G. Ash	Chief Judge Janet DiFiore	March 31, 2020
Joel Cohen, Esq.	Former Assembly Speaker Sheldon Silver	March 31, 2018
Jodie Corngold	Governor Andrew M. Cuomo	March 31, 2019
Richard D. Emery, Esq.	Senate Minority Leader Andrea Stewart-Cousins	March 31, 2020
Hon. Thomas A. Klonick	Former Chief Judge Jonathan Lippman	March 31, 2017
Richard A. Stoloff, Esq.	Former Senate President Pro Tem Dean Skelos	March 31, 2019
Hon. David A. Weinstein	Governor Andrew M. Cuomo	March 31, 2018
Vacant	Governor	March 31, 2017