

The Neutron Scattering Society of America

www.neutronscattering.org

Press Release February 11, 2008

The Neutron Scattering Society of America is pleased to announce the election as Fellows of the Society of:

Prof. Robert J. Birgeneau (University of California at Berkeley)

For his elegant and seminal studies of critical phenomena in low dimensional and disordered magnetic systems, pioneering studies of antiferromagnetic spin correlations in cuprate superconductors, and strong advocacy for the field of neutron scattering.

Dr. Larry Passell (Brookhaven National Laboratory)

For his sustained and pioneering work in application of neutron scattering to studies of surfaces and crystal field excitations as well as his contributions to neutron instrumentation in the development of polarizing multilayers and novel methods of preparing monochromators.

Prof. Sunil Sinha (University of California at San Diego)

For making seminal contributions in Neutron Scattering in many different fields including Magnetism, Superconductivity, Polymers, and Complex Fluids.

Prof. Julia R. Weertman (Northwestern University)

For her long and dedicated service to the neutron community and her seminal contributions to materials science research with neutrons.

2008 Clifford G. Shull Prize recipient:

Prof. Sow-Hsin Chen (Massachusetts Institute of Technology)

For his outstanding achievements in the study of the structural and dynamical properties of water and complex fluids by neutron scattering.

Through the NSSA Fellowship Program, the Society recognizes members who have made significant contributions to the neutron scattering community in North America in one or more of the following areas: advances in knowledge through original research and publication; innovative contributions in the application of neutron scattering; contributions to the promotion or development of neutron scattering techniques; and service and participation in the activities of the NSSA or neutron community. Each year, election to Fellowship of the Neutron Scattering Society of America is limited to no more than one half of one percent of the membership. Additionally, recipients of the Clifford G. Shull Prize and Sustained Research Prize are automatically named Fellows of the Society. Election as NSSA Fellow recognizes outstanding contributions to neutron scattering and the North American neutron scattering community.

The new Fellows will be recognized at the biennial American Conference on Neutron Scattering in Santa Fe, New Mexico May 11-15, 2008.