## CyberCivics Provided by Kansas Secretary of State Kris W. Kobach

## Test Your Knowledge: History & Statehood

- What was the name given to the group of Native American tribes forced to relocate to the Kansas Territory under the Indian Removal Act of 1830?
  - A. Seminoles
  - **B.** Emigrant Indians
  - C. Trail of Tears Indians
  - D. Southeast Indians
- Who was President when the Indian Removal Act of 1830 was implemented?
  - A. Abraham Lincoln
  - B. Franklin Pierce
  - C. Andrew Jackson
  - D. Woodrow Wilson
- The Kansas legislature drafted four different state constitutions while Kansas was still a territory. What was the name of the constitution that was actually adopted?
  - A. The Lecompton Constitution
  - B. The Topeka Constitution
  - C. The Leavenworth Constitution
  - D. The Wyandotte Constitution
- In the Kansas territory, some settlers wanted to annex southern Nebraska and extend the western boundary to the Rockies and some opposed this idea. What were the names given to the two different boundary plans?
  - A. "Large Kansas" and "Small Kansas"
  - B. "Expanded Kansas" and "Restricted Kansas"
  - C. "Big Kansas" and "Little Kansas"
  - D. "Red Kansas" and "Blue Kansas"
- What was the nickname given to the anti-slavery Kansans who fought using guerrilla warfare tactics?

- A. Jayhawkers
- B. Bushwackers
- C. Quantrill's Raiders
- D. Crusaders
- 6 Who led the infamous massacre at Pottawatomie Creek?
  - A. William Quantrill
  - B. Henry Ward Beecher
  - C. John Brown
  - D. Nathaniel Lyon
- 7 When did Kansas become a state?
  - A. January 1, 1862
  - B. January 29, 1860
  - C. January 28, 1861
  - D. January 29, 1861
- What does the Kansas state motto, "Ad astra per aspera," mean?
  - A. "To the stars through difficulty"
  - B. "To the stars through war"
  - C. "Never give up"
  - D. "To be, rather than to seem"
- 9 How many counties are in the state of Kansas?
  - A. 105
  - B. 100
  - C. 107
  - D. 101
- Which county is considered the geographical center of America's 48 contiguous states?
  - A. Reno County
  - B. Smith County
  - C. Barton County
  - D. Rice County

## Test Your Knowledge: History & Statehood

**Answer Key** 

- What was the name given to the group of Native American tribes forced to relocate to the Kansas Territory under the Indian Removal Act of 1830?
  - A. Seminoles
  - **B.** Emigrant Indians
  - C. Trail of Tears Indians
  - D. Southeast Indians
- Who was President when the Indian Removal Act of 1830 was implemented?
  - A. Abraham Lincoln
  - B. Franklin Pierce
  - C. Andrew Jackson
  - D. Woodrow Wilson
- The Kansas legislature drafted four different state constitutions while Kansas was still a territory. What was the name of the constitution that was actually adopted?
  - A. The Lecompton Constitution
  - B. The Topeka Constitution
  - C. The Leavenworth Constitution
  - D. The Wyandotte Constitution
- In the Kansas territory, some settlers wanted to annex southern Nebraska and extend the western boundary to the Rockies and some opposed this idea. What were the names given to the two different boundary plans?
  - A. "Large Kansas" and "Small Kansas"
  - B. "Expanded Kansas" and "Restricted Kansas"
  - C. "Big Kansas" and "Little Kansas"
  - D. "Red Kansas" and "Blue Kansas"
- What was the nickname given to the anti-slavery Kansans who fought using guerrilla warfare tactics?

- A. Jayhawkers
- B. Bushwackers
- C. Quantrill's Raiders
- D. Crusaders
- 6 Who led the infamous massacre at Pottawatomie Creek?
  - A. William Quantrill
  - B. Henry Ward Beecher
  - C. John Brown
  - D. Nathaniel Lyon
- **7** When did Kansas become a state?
  - A. January 1, 1862
  - B. January 29, 1860
  - C. January 28, 1861
  - D. January 29, 1861
- What does the Kansas state motto, "Ad astra per aspera," mean?
  - A. "To the stars through difficulty"
  - B. "To the stars through war"
  - C. "Never give up"
  - D. "To be, rather than to seem"
- 9 How many counties are in the state of Kansas?
  - A. 105
  - B. 100
  - C. 107
  - D. 101
- Which county is considered the geographical center of America's 48 contiguous states?
  - A. Reno County
  - B. Smith County
  - C. Barton County
  - D. Rice County