99th General Assembly

Office of the Senate President



JOHN J. CULLERTON
Senate President

The Senate president is the presiding officer of the Illinois Senate, elected by the 59 members to serve a two-year term. The Illinois Constitution, statutes and rules define the functions and responsibilities of the office.

The Senate president is the leader of the majority party in the legislature's upper chamber and must promote a legislative environment conducive to debating and enacting legislation that reflects the needs of Illinois citizens.

The Senate president appoints Senate members to standing committees as well as permanent and interim study commissions. In most cases, one senator is appointed to serve as chair of each Senate committee. Along with the speaker of the

House, the Senate president shares primary responsibility for legislative procedures and operations. The president also reviews and approves the expenditure of funds appropriated for use by the Senate and certifies that all bills passed by the Senate are in accordance with Senate rules.

Office of the Speaker of the House

The speaker of the House of Representatives derives responsibility and influence over legislative activities through statutes, constitutional mandates and House rules of procedure. The speaker is chosen by members of the House and serves as both leader of the majority party caucus and the presiding officer of the 118-member legislative chamber.

The speaker, with the concurrence of a majority of representatives, sets the session meeting schedule, establishes the order of business and manages the operational activities of the body's annual budget. In addition, the speaker can, with the cooperation of the Senate president, call for a special session of the General Assembly.



MICHAEL J. MADIGAN Speaker of the House

In coordination with the Senate president, the speaker manages the activities of the various legislative support agencies. The House and Senate minority leaders also are part of the management team for the support agencies.



James F. Clayborne, Jr.

Senate

Majority Leader



Christine Radogno Senate Minority Leader



Barbara Flynn Currie House Majority Leader



Jim Durkin House Minority Leader