Chicago State University



Wayne D. Watson President

Chicago State University, a fully accredited public institution, is the city's oldest public university. Founded in 1867 with 13 students as a teacher-training school, its enrollment today stands at about 6,100 students from throughout the United States and the world.

The university boasts an academic program encompassing six colleges and one division, and offers 38 undergraduate and 24 master's degree programs. Two doctoral programs — the Doctor of Education in Educational Leadership and the Doctor of Pharmacy — and six graduate certificate programs are offered. Both faculty and students conduct research and offer services to the university and the community. The Division of Continuing Education and Nontradi-

tional Degree Programs reaches out to the community with extension courses, distance learning and not-for-credit programs and online courses. University programs challenge students to achieve their personal pinnacles in the intellectual domain and beyond.

For more than 146 years, CSU has served the Chicago metropolitan area as an engaged institution working with and for the community. The university also provides for the varied needs of myriad constituencies. Specifically, the university offers day and evening course schedules, international programming, and addresses the specific needs of minorities and older, nontraditional populations. As a result, CSU has long enjoyed a reputation as the institution of choice for traditional and nontraditional residents. With leadership from its 305 faculty members, the university has an effective academic support system that helps students graduate, enter the nation's most competitive graduate and professional schools, and achieve their career goals.

CSU has a history of adding competitive and knowledgeable experts to the global workforce. It is tradition to graduate responsible, effective leaders of social change and citizens ready to contribute to society who are equipped with the solid foundation of values and principles taught at the university.

CSU is a leader in efforts to boost minority business ownership in Chicago. The university encourages minorities to enter fields in which they are currently underrepresented such as science, mathematics and health-related fields.

Dedicated in 1971, the campus includes the New Academic Library, Emil & Patricia A. Jones Convocation Center, Robinson University Center, Williams Science Center, Cook Administration Building, and the Jacoby D. Dickens Physical Education and Athletics Center. The university has NCAA Division I men's and women's teams in multiple sporting areas, including baseball, golf, tennis, volleyball, basketball, cross-country, and track and field. CSU is a member of the Western Athletic Conference.

The president of the university also is the CEO, responsible for providing leadership and vision for the 21st century in the administration of campus initiatives and policies. The president reports to the university's seven-member Board of Trustees, which includes six members appointed by the Governor and a student representative elected by the student body. **Board of Trustees:** Anthony L. Young, *chair;* James T. Joyce, *vice chair;* Michael Curtin, *secretary;* Spencer Leak, Sr., Dr. Horace Smith, Nikki Zollar, and Ismael Reyna, *student representative.*

Chicago State University Administration

Wayne D. Watson, Ph.D.	President
Angela Henderson, Ph.D	Interim Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs
LaShondra Peebles, J.D	Interim Vice President for Enrollment
	Management & Student Affairs
Lawrence Pinkelton	Interim Vice President for Administration & Finance
Prashant Shinde	Chief Information Officer
Patrick Cage	Vice President of Labor & Legal Affairs and General Counsel



Chicago State University's 141,000-square-foot Academic Library can accommodate up to 1 million volumes.