Illinois Community College Board



Alexi Giannoulias Chair



Karen Hunter Anderson Executive Director

The Illinois Community College Board was created in 1965. The board has statutory responsibility for planning and coordinating the programs and activities of the state's 39 community college districts.

Illinois has the third-largest community college system in the nation. Each year, nearly 1 million students attend Illinois community colleges in credit and non-credit programs. About 65 percent of all students in Illinois public higher education are enrolled in community colleges.

Of the 39 public community college districts, 38 have locally elected boards of trustees, and one (City Colleges of Chicago) has a locally appointed board of trustees. There are 37 single-college districts with one or more extension campuses. Two districts have multiple colleges: City Colleges of Chicago and Illinois Eastern Community Colleges. All districts have local taxing authority to provide local support for district operations. Also within the system is the East St. Louis Community College Center administered by the Southern Illinois Collegiate Common Market, a consortium of four community colleges and Southern Illinois University (Carbondale and Edwardsville).

The Illinois Community College Board consists of 11 members appointed by the Governor and one student member selected annually by the recognized Student Advisory Committee to the Board. Board members are appointed at large for six-year terms. The chair is selected by the Governor.

Board Members: Alexi Giannoulias, *chair;* Suzanne Morris, *vice chair;* Guy H. Alongi, Randy J. Barnette, Terry Bruce, Michael Dorf, Teresa Garate, Victor P. Henderson, Thomas G. Pulver, Jake Rendleman, and Rachel Pitchford, *student representative*. There is currently one vacancy on the board.