Illinois Court of Claims Judges

The Illinois Court of Claims has exclusive jurisdiction to hear all claims regarding any contract with the State of Illinois; torts committed by agents of the state; time unjustly served by innocent persons in Illinois prisons; torts committed by escaped inmates of statecontrolled institutions; and lapsed appropriations claims. The Court of Claims administers assistance programs to compensate families of law enforcement officers, firefighters and military personnel killed in the line of duty. The court also vouchers awards to innocent victims of violent crimes as authorized by the Crime Victims Compensation Act.



Robert J. Sprague Chief Justice Appointed 2003



Peter J. Birnbaum Appointed 2004



Mary Patricia Burns Appointed 2009



Neil Hartigan Appointed 2013



Gerald E. Kubasiak Appointed 2011



Robert J. Steffen Appointed 2004



Donald J. Storino Appointed 2004