

For immediate release: January 26, 2011

Contact: Bruce Milhans bmilhans@achp.gov or 202-606-8513

First Lady Designates 15 New Preserve America Communities

WASHINGTON, D.C. – First Lady of the United States Michelle Obama has signed and sent designation letters to 15 new Preserve America Communities, bringing the total nationwide to 858.

"Preserve America Communities are committed to preserving their past by using their heritage to build a better future," said Wayne Donaldson, chairman of the federal Advisory Council on Historic Preservation (ACHP). "It is good news for the nation when 15 more communities demonstrate that they want to enjoy and share the economic, educational, environmental, and sustainability benefits preservation provides while creating more vibrant and desirable places to live, work, and visit."

The newly designated communities are, by state:

Arkansas: Hamburg
Florida: Leon County
Georgia: Jones County
Minnesota: Litchfield

New Jersey: Bridgeton, Roebling

Ohio: Somerset
Oregon: West Linn
Rhode Island: Barrington

Texas: Laredo, San Angelo

Virginia: Waterford
Washington: Ferry County
Wisconsin: Greendale, Milton

The Preserve America Community program recognizes a select group of communities that use their heritage resources to share the myriad benefits of historic preservation with residents and visitors. The program began in 2003, and Preserve America Communities, great places to visit and explore, are now located in all 50 states and many overseas U.S. territories. Preserve America is administered by the ACHP with assistance from the U.S. Department of the Interior. For more information see www.preserveamerica.gov and www.achp.gov.