DEPARTMENT OF ENERGY

Secretary of Energy Advisory Board Natural Gas Subcommittee

AGENCY: Department of Energy

ACTION: Notice of Open Meeting

SUMMARY: This notice announces an open meeting of the Secretary of Energy Advisory Board (SEAB) Natural Gas Subcommittee. SEAB was reestablished pursuant to the Federal Advisory Committee Act (Pub. L. No. 92-463, 86 Stat. 770) (the Act). This notice is provided in accordance with the Act.

DATES: Tuesday, June 28, 2011 10:00 a.m-12:00 p.m.

1:30 p.m.-4:00 p.m.

Wednesday, July 13, 2011 10:00 a.m. – 12:00 p.m.

1:30 p.m.-4:00 p.m.

ADDRESSES: Department of Energy

1000 Independence Avenue, SW

Washington, DC 20585

FOR FURTHER INFORMATION CONTACT: Renee Stone, Deputy Designated Federal Officer, U.S. Department of Energy, 1000 Independence Avenue, SW., Washington, DC 20585; shalegas@hq.doe.gov or www.shalegas.energy.gov.

SUPPLEMENTARY INFORMATION:

Background: The Subcommittee was established to provide recommendations to the SEAB on how to improve the safety and environmental performance of natural gas hydraulic fracturing from shale formations thereby harnessing a vital domestic energy resource while ensuring the safety of citizen's drinking water and the health of the environment. President Obama directed Secretary Chu to convene this group as part of

the President's "<u>Blueprint for a Secure Energy Future</u>" – a comprehensive plan to reduce America's oil dependence, save consumers money, and make our country the leader in clean energy industries.

Purpose of the Meeting: The purpose of this meeting is to allow subcommittee members to hear directly from natural gas stakeholders.

Tentative Agenda: The meeting will start at 10:00 a.m. on June 28th. The tentative meeting agenda includes presentations from shale gas stakeholders and experts. The second meeting, July 13, will begin at 10:00 a.m. The tentative meeting agenda includes presentations from shale gas stakeholders and experts. The meeting will conclude at 4:00 p.m. both days.

Public Participation: These meetings are open to the public. Individuals who would like to attend must RSVP to shalegas@hq.doe.gov no later than 5:00 PM on Friday, June 24, 2011 for the June 28, 2011 meeting and by 5:00 PM on Monday, July 11, 2011 for the July 13, 2011 meeting. Please provide your name, organization, citizenship and contact information. Space is limited. Anyone attending the meeting will be required to present government issued identification. Individuals and representatives of organizations who would like to offer comments and suggestions may do so at the end of the meeting on Tuesday, June 28, 2011 and Wednesday, July 13, 2011.

Approximately 30 minutes will be reserved each day for public comments. Time allotted per speaker will depend on the number of individuals who wish to speak but will not, in any circumstance, exceed 5 minutes. The Designated Federal Officer is empowered to conduct the meeting in a fashion that will facilitate the orderly conduct of business.

Those wishing to speak should register to do so beginning at 9:30 a.m. on June 28, 2011 and 9:30 a.m. on July 13, 2011.

Those not able to attend the meeting or have insufficient time to address the committee are invited to send a written statement to Renee Stone, U.S. Department of Energy 1000 Independence Avenue, SW, Washington D.C. 20585, email to shalegas@hq.doe.gov, or post on the subcommittee website.

Issued in Washington, D.C. on

Rachel Samuel
Deputy Committee Management Officer