Minutes Court Security Committee May 13, 2014

The Court Security Committee met on May 13, 2014 in the attorney conference room at 231 Capitol Avenue, Hartford.

Members in attendance: Hon. Patrick L. Carroll (chair), Atty. Joseph D. D'Alesio, Hon. Brian Fischer, Det. Michael Grieder, Chief Inspector James Hankard, Atty. Raymond M. Hassett, Ms. Melanie Kerr, Capt. William Kewer, Mr. Robert W. Kilpatrick, Atty. Richard Loffredo, Atty. Pamela Meotti, Mr. O'Donovan Murphy, Atty. Denise Poncini and Atty. Robin C. Smith.

Jen Loo attended on behalf of Susan Brown. Esther Harris, Jury Administrator, was in attendance.

The meeting was called to order at 10:05 AM.

- 1. The members introduced themselves.
- 2. The minutes from the January 28, 2014 meeting were unanimously approved.
- 3. The creation of three subcommittees was discussed:
 - 1) Cyber Security Subcommittee: This subcommittee will be chaired by an individual from the Judicial Branch's Information Technology Division. Captain Kewer stated that the Branch's Information Technology Division has a representative on a statewide committee addressing cyber security issues chaired by Deputy Commissioner Shea. The representative from the Information Technology Division will be invited to the next Security Committee meeting.
 - 2) Subcommittee to update the local Judicial District emergency response plan templates: This subcommittee will be chaired by Don Murphy and members will include Bob Kirchner, Melanie Kerr, Richard Loffredo, Denise Poncini, Bob Kilpatrick, Michael Grieder, Thomas Grimaldi, Jim Hankard, Dennis Dowd and Mitch Ward. The State Fire Marshal, Department of Public Health, Federal Bureau of Investigation and the U.S. Marshals will be brought in as consultants.
 - 3) Juror Security Subcommittee: This subcommittee will be chaired by Esther Harris, jury administrator, and members will include Judge Brian Fischer, Attorney Ray Hassett, Attorney Robin Smith, and representatives from Judicial Marshal Services.
- 4. The Hostile Incident Subcommittee addressed several topics:
 - 1) Firearm policy as it relates to law enforcement

- 2) Judicial Marshal Services' response to a hostile incident
- 3) Access cards
- 4) Duress alarms
- 5. A subcommittee will be created to develop guidelines for the local security committees. These committees are present in all the Judicial Districts. The subcommittee will develop template agendas and scheduling protocols for the local committees. The subcommittee will also determine which entities need to be represented on the committee. It was recommended that the subcommittee look at the Hartford Judicial District local security committee as a model. The subcommittee will be chaired by Judge Solomon and include several Administrative Judges, Don Murphy, Bob Kilpatrick, Larry Callahan, Robin Smith and Susan Brown.
- 6. Judicial Marshal Services and local law enforcement are discussing options to improve communication.
- 7. Captain Kewer suggested that the Branch contact the domestic violence advocates and provide them with the Branch's active shooter and awareness training.
- 8. The next meeting of the Court Security Committee will be on September 9, 2014 at 231 Capitol Avenue.

The meeting adjourned at 11:00