Acknowledgments

The Alaska Mitigation Advisory Group (MAG) would like to thank former Governor Palin for the opportunity to meet and address the issues it considered in developing these recommendations for the Mitigation portion of the Alaska Climate Change Strategy. The MAG also gratefully acknowledges the following individuals and organizations who contributed significantly to the successful completion of the MAG process and the publication of this report.

Special thanks to Alaska Department of Environmental Conservation Commissioner Larry Hartig, Chairman of the Alaska Sub-Cabinet, and to Jackie Poston, DEC Project Coordinator who coordinated and supervised all activities associated with the MAG process.

Brian Rogers, Chancellor of the University of Alaska – Fairbanks, for his valuable assistance in facilitating MAG meetings as well as providing unprecedented access to the resources of the University.

Kenneth Colburn, Gloria Flora, and Katie Pasko and the Center for Climate Strategies (CCS), with its dedicated team of professionals who contributed extraordinary amounts of time, energy, and expertise in providing facilitation services and technical analysis for this process. The CCS team included:

Jeffrey Ang-Olson, ICF International Lydia Dobrovolny, Ross & Associates Environmental Consulting, Ltd. Jeremy Fisher, Synapse Energy Economics Frank Gallivan, ICF International Chris James, Synapse Energy Economics Dick LaFever, Crossroads Leadership Institute Stephen Roe, E. H. Pechan and Associates
Jackson Schreiber, E. H. Pechan and Associates
Brad Strode, E. H. Pechan and Associates
Nancy Tosta, Ross & Associates Environmental Consulting, Ltd.
Amy Wheeless, Ross & Associates Environmental Consulting, Ltd.

Maureen Mullen, E. H. Pechan and Associates

The Oil & Gas Technical Work Group was assisted by Dick LaFever, Crossroads Leadership Institute, and Fran Sussman and Brian Gillis of ICF International.

The MAG also recognizes the many individuals who participated in the sector-based Technical Work Groups, who are listed individually in Appendix C. The MAG recognizes and appreciates their wise advice and the time and effort each Technical Work Group member spent in discussion, study, and analysis during this process.

This work would not have been possible without the valuable coordination and technical assistance provided by Joan Hardesty and Kolena Momberger of DEC. Special thanks also go to Katie Pasko, Joan O'Callaghan, and June Taylor for coordinating the production and editing of this report.

Finally, the MAG recognizes the valuable financial support and recognition of this effort to involve stakeholders in addressing climate change issues from the Alaska Department of Environmental Conservation, the Sea Change Foundation and Dr. Joel D. Scheraga, National Program Director for the US EPA Global Change Research Program and the Mercury Research Program, which funded the work of the Oil & Gas Technical Work Group.