Law Library of Congress Logo
In Custodia Legis
Official blog from the Law Library of Congress
Find the Law Library on:
Constitution
- Afghanistan Embassy: Constitution of Afghanistan in English (external link) includes links in PDF to both the Pashtu/Dari constitution and an English translation
- History: Constitutions of the Past (external link) (Afghanistan Online) constitutions of 1923, 1963, 1976, 1987, and 1990; in English
- International Constitutional Law: Afghanistan (external link) (Universität Bern Institut für Öffentliches Recht) includes an unofficial translation of the 2004 constitution
- WIPO Lex: Constitution of the Islamic Republic of Afghanistan (external link) (World Intellectual Property Organization)
- Constitution Finder (external link) (University of Richmond T.C. Williams School of Law)
Executive
- Afghanistan Ministry of Foreign Affairs (external link)
- World Factbook: Afghanistan (U.S. Central Intelligence Agency)
Judicial
- COURTS: The constitution establishes a nine-member Stera Mahkama or Supreme Court and subordinate High Courts and Appeals Courts; from World Factbook: Afghanistan - Government (U.S. Central Intelligence Agency)
- Afghanistan Ministry of Justice (external link)
- Afghanistan Legal Education Project: Judicial Opinions (external link) in Dari
Legislative
- PARLIAMENT: National Assembly (external link) [Grand Assembly]
- Afghanistan Laws Database (external link) (Afghanistan. Ministry of Justice)
- NATLEX: Afghanistan (external link) (International Labour Organization) database of national laws on labor, social security, and related human rights
- RefWorld Legal Information: Afghanistan (external link) (UNHCR)
- WIPO Lex: Afghanistan IP Laws and Treaties (external link) (World Intellectual Property Organization)
Legal Guides and Miscellaneous
- Global Legal Information Catalog: Afghanistan (Law Library of Congress) provides bibliographic information on materials in our reference collection
- Global Legal Monitor: Afghanistan (Law Library of Congress)
- In Custodia Legis Blog Search: Afghanistan (Law Library of Congress)
- Law Library of Congress Search: Afghanistan (Library of Congress)
- Laws Criminalizing Apostasy: Afghanistan (Law Library of Congress)
- Legislation on Use of Water in Agriculture: Afghanistan (Law Library of Congress)
- Multinational Reference (Law Library of Congress)
- Translation of National Legislation into English: Afghanistan (Law Library of Congress) PDF
- Afghanistan Legal Education Project: Publications (external link) includes four textbooks
- Afghanistan Legal Research (external link) (University of Michigan Law Library)
- Finding the Law: Islamic Law / Sharia (external link) (LLRX)
- Foreign Official Gazette Database: Afghanistan (external link) (Center for Research Libraries)
- ForIntLaw: Afghanistan (external link) (Washburn University Law Library)
- Update: Islamic Republic of Afghanistan Legal System and Research (external link) (GlobaLex)
- World Legal Information Institute: Afghanistan (external link) (WorldLII)
General Sources
- Country Profile: Afghanistan (Library of Congress) August 2008; PDF
- Maps: Afghanistan (Library of Congress)
- A Selection of Historical Maps of Afghanistan (Library of Congress)
- World Digital Library: Afghanistan (Library of Congress/UNESCO)
- BBC News: Afghanistan Country Profile (external link);
- Chiefs of State and Cabinet Members of Foreign Governments: Afghanistan (U.S. Central Intelligence Agency)
- Consular Information Sheet: Afghanistan (U.S. Dept. of State)
- Country Information: Afghanistan (U.S. Dept of State)
- Country Reports on Human Rights Practices: Afghanistan (U.S. Dept of State)
- Embassy of Afghanistan, Washington (external link)
- FAO Country Profiles: Afghanistan (external link) (Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations)
- Fact Sheet: U.S. Relations with Afghanistan (U.S. Dept. of State)
- A Guide to Recognition, Diplomatic, and Consular Relations: Afghanistan (U.S. Dept. of State. Office of the Historian)
- Human Rights in Afghanistan (external link) (Amnesty International)
- International Religious Freedom Reports: Afghanistan (U.S. Dept. of State)
- Middle East Studies: Afghanistan (external link) (Columbia University)
- NEWS: Al Jazeera (external link)
- U.S. Embassy, Kabul (U.S. Dept of State)
- World Bank: Afghanistan (external link)
- World Factbook: Afghanistan (U.S. Central Intelligence Agency)
- World Health Organization: Afghanistan (external link)
- World Food Programme: Afghanistan (external link)
For more information on Afghanistan, see:
Last Updated: 11/04/2016
