Constitution

• Dependencies and Areas of Special Sovereignty (U.S. Dept. of State) "Note 2: Antarctica consists of the territory south of 60 degrees south latitude. This area includes claims by Argentina, Australia, Chile, France, New Zealand, Norway, and the United Kingdom, the legal status of which remains in suspense under the terms of the Antarctic Treaty of 1959. The United States recognizes no claims to Antarctica."

Back to Top

Executive

• Antarctic Treaty (U.S. Dept. of State) December 1, 1959; entered into force June 23, 1961
• Antarctic Treaty of 1959 (external link) (Antarctic Treaty Secretariat)
• Antarctic Treaty Database (external link)
• United States Antarctic Resource Center
• Australian Antarctic Division (external link)

Back to Top

Legislative

• Antarctic Conservation Act of 1978 (U.S. National Science Foundation) in PDF; as of October 1995
• Antarctic Conservation, 16 U.S.C. §2401 et seq. via GPO FdSys, U.S. House, and Cornell (external link)
• Antarctic Marine Living Resources Convention, 16 U.S.C. §2431 et seq. via GPO FDsys, US House, and Cornell (external link)
• Antarctic Mineral Resources Protection, 16 U.S.C. §2461 et seq. via GPO FDsys, US House, and Cornell (external link)

Back to Top

Legal Guides

• Global Legal Information Catalog: Antarctica (Law Library of Congress) provides bibliographic information on materials in our reference collection
• Law Library of Congress Search: Antarctica (Library of Congress)
• Multinational Reference (Law Library of Congress)
• Antarctic Treaty: Background Information (external link) (British Antarctic Survey)
• Handbook of the Antarctic Treaty System (U.S. Dept. of State)
• WashLaw: Antarctica (external link) (Washburn University Law Library)

Back to Top

General Sources

• Cold Regions Bibliography (Library of Congress) 1999-2000 project
• Library of Congress Search: Antarctica
• Maps: Antarctica (Library of Congress)
• Antarctica (U.S. Dept. of State)
• Antarctica Bibliography (external link) (American Geological Institute)
• Byrd Polar and Climate Research Center (external link)
• Consular Information Sheet / Travel: Antarctica (U.S. Dept. of State)
• NEWS: Antarctic Sun (external link); Antarctican (external link)
• SPRILIB Antarctica (external link) (University of Cambridge, Scott Polar Research Institute)
• World Factbook: Antarctica (US Central Intelligence Agency)

For more information on Antarctica, see:

• Law Library of Congress Search: Antarctica

Back to Top

Last Updated: 02/24/2017