Constitution

• Constitution (external link) (Egypt. Ministry of Information) in English
• Laws and Constitution (external link) (Egypt Government Portal) in Arabic
• WIPO Lex: Constitution of the Arab Republic of Egypt 2014 (external link) (World Intellectual Property Organization) in Arabic, English, and French
• International Constitutional Law: Egypt (external link) (Universität Bern Institut für Öffentliches Recht) background information only

Back to Top

Executive

• Egypt Government (external link)
• The Cabinet of Ministers (external link)
• Treaties, Documents and Newsletters (external link) (Egypt. Ministry of Foreign Affairs) includes a Treaties Database (external link)
• Ministry of Information Egypt State Information Service (external link)

Back to Top

Judicial

• Legal Research Guide: Egypt - Court System (Law Library of Congress) describes the three-tiered judicial branch: Courts of the First Degree (Mahkmat El Daragah El Aoulah), the Appellate Court (Mahkmat El Esti’anaf), and the Court of Cassation (Mahkmat El Naqd)

Back to Top

Legislative

• OFFICIAL GAZETTE: Egyptian Official Gazette (Al Gareedah Al Rasmeyah) (external link)
• PARLIAMENT: House of Representatives (external link)
• Laws and Constitution (external link) (Egypt Government Portal)
• Egyptian Legislative and Jurisprudence Database (external link) (Egypt. Ministry of Justice)
• FAOLEX: Egypt (external link) (Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations) database of national laws and regulations on food, agriculture, and renewable natural resources
• GLIN Archive: Egypt [1951-2010] (Law Library of Congress) includes summaries; full text is accessible from a Reading Room
• Legal Research Guide: Egypt - Legislative Process (Law Library of Congress)
• NATLEX: Egypt (external link) (International Labour Organization) database of national laws on labor, social security, and related human rights
• RefWorld Legal Information: Egypt (external link) (UNHCR)
• WIPO Lex: Egypt (external link) (World Intellectual Property Organization)

Back to Top

Legal Guides

• Global Legal Monitor: Egypt (Law Library of Congress)
• Global Legal Information Catalog: Egypt (Law Library of Congress) provides bibliographic information on materials in our reference collection
• In Custodia Legis Blog: Egypt (Law Library of Congress)
  • FALQS: Egypt’s New Antiterrorism Law from our Frequently Asked Legal Questions In Custodia Legis series
  • Perspectives on Egypt’s 2014 Constitution
• Law Library of Congress Legal Reports: Egypt (Library of Congress)
  • Constitutional Right to an Education: Egypt
  • Egypt: Hosni Mubarak Trials
  • Egypt: Legal Framework for Arbitration
  • Egypt: Sexual Violence Against Women
  • Legal Research Guide: Egypt
  • Refugee Law and Policy: Egypt
• Law Library of Congress Search: Egypt (Library of Congress)
• Multinational Reference (Law Library of Congress)
• Foreign Official Gazette Database: Egypt (external link) (Center for Research Libraries)
• ForIntLaw: Egypt (external link) (Washburn University Law Library)
• North African Legal Resources (Maghreb and Egypt) (external link) (University of Iowa Law Library)
• Update: An Overview of the Egyptian Legal System and Legal Research (external link) (GlobaLex)
• World Legal Information Institute: Egypt (external link) (WorldLII)
• World Legal Materials from Africa: Egypt (external link) (Cornell Legal Information Institute)

Back to Top

General Sources

• Countries of the Near East Section: Egypt (Library of Congress)
• Country Study: Egypt (Library of Congress) December 1990
• Maps: Egypt (Library of Congress)
• World Digital Library: Egypt (Library of Congress/UNESCO)
• BBC News: Egypt Country Profile
• Bureau of International Labor Affairs: ILAB in Egypt (U.S. Dept. of Labor)
• Chiefs of State and Cabinet Members of Foreign Governments: Egypt (U.S. Central Intelligence Agency)
• Columbia University African Studies: Egypt (external link)
• Consular Information Sheet: Egypt (U.S. Dept. of State)
• Country Information: Egypt (U.S. Dept. of State)
• Country Reports on Human Rights Practices: Egypt (U.S. Dept. of State)
• Economist Topics: Egypt (external link)
• Embassy of Egypt, Washington (external link)
• FAO Country Profiles: Egypt (Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations)
• Fact Sheet: U.S. Relations With Egypt (U.S. Dept. of State)
• A Guide to Recognition, Diplomatic, and Consular Relations: Egypt (U.S. Dept. of State. Office of the Historian)
• Human Rights in Egypt (external link) (Amnesty International)
• International Religious Freedom Reports: Egypt (U.S. Dept. of State)
• NATIONAL LIBRARY: Egyptian National Library and Archives [Dar el-Kotob] (external link)
• U.S. Embassy, Cairo (U.S. Dept. of State)
• U.S. Office of the Trade Representative: Egypt
• World Bank: Egypt (external link)
• World Factbook: Egypt (U.S. Central Intelligence Agency)
• World Food Programme: Egypt
• World Health Organization: Egypt (external link)

For more information on Egypt, see:

• Global Legal Monitor: Egypt
• In Custodia Legis Blog Search: Egypt
• Law Library of Congress Legal Reports Search: Egypt
• Law Library of Congress Search: Egypt

Back to Top

Last Updated: 03/30/2017